Get Every Story

Subscribe to the West Texas Tribune

Martin Luther King Scholarship Reception

By Floyd Miller



MLK Scholarship

A crowd of approximately 50 individuals met at the Ben E. Keith Center to honor the MLK recipients, Lisette Spraggins, Sharon Owens and Celeste Cooper were part of the Scholarship Committee. Mr. Carlos Munson, a native of Abilene and a retired Army Lieutenant Colonel, was the keynote speaker. 
The students are looking forward to furthering their education. Alexander will be attending Austin College, Bynum will attend the University of Texas at Dallas, he plans to become a Neurosurgeon, Teta will attend Texas Southern University and major in Performing Arts, Ayers will attend Angelo State University and major in Public Administration, Cole will also attend Angelo State University and major in Music Education.
The following businesses provided food and prizes for the reception, Jason’s Deli, Cinema 12, Chick-fil-a, Dominos Pizza, HEB and Sonic. 
— West Texas Tribune

Ad Partners:

Appreciate Local, Independent Journalism?

Donate to help the West Texas Tribune strong!

The West Texas Tribune is a community-based newspaper that has been published, uninterrupted, since May 2005. Our goal is to highlight events and people throughout West Texas as an independent, locally run newspaper. We thrive on the support of our local community.

Don't Miss Out

Get every story from the WTT as it happens!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.